## 02 - 08 - 2024

- News: UN Security Council (UNSC)
- Recently, Pakistan, Somalia, Denmark, Greece, and Panama have been chosen as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council (UNSC), serving a 2year term from 1<sup>st</sup> January 2025 to 31<sup>st</sup> December 2026.
- The newly elected members are Somalia for the African Group, Pakistan for the Asia-Pacific Group, Panama for the Latin America and Caribbean Group, and Denmark and Greece for the Western European and Others Group.
- Current and Incoming Members: The new members will replace outgoing countries such as Mozambique, Japan, Ecuador, Malta, and Switzerland.

## **United Nations Security Council (UNSC)**

- Security Council of the United Nations ensures international peace and security recommending the admission of new UN members to the General Assembly, and approving any changes to the UN Charter.
- Under the charter, all Member States are obliged to comply with Council decisions. Hence, the UNSC is the only UN body with the authority to issue binding resolutions on member states.

- Members: 5 Permanent members (US, China, France, UK, Russia) with Veto power.
- 10 non- permanent members elected on a regional basis for a term of 2 years.
  Each year 5 members retire and election occurs for the vacant post. Retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election.
- Recently, Pakistan, Somalia, Denmark, Greece, and Panama have been chosen as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council (UNSC), serving a 2year term from 1<sup>st</sup> January 2025 to 31<sup>st</sup> December 2026.
- Presidency rotates monthly among its members.
- India is a member of G4 nations (Brazil, Germany, India and Japan) which support each other's bids for permanent seats on UNSC.
- However, each of their bids are being opposed by Uniting for Consensus (or simply Coffee Club) a group of around 50 states, who are opposing the resolution of increasing the permanent seats in UNSC. It is led by Italy. Other core members of Coffee club include South Korea, Canada, Spain, Mexico, Turkey, Argentina, Pakistan and Malta.
- These countries propose to increase non-permanent members from 10 to 20 while keeping the permanent membership to 5.
- ➤ The Secretary General of UNGA is appointed by the UNGA only based on the recommendation of the Security Council. It implies that essentially the P5

countries chose the Secretary. There is an informal understanding between the members that Secretary General should alternatively be from Western and Eastern Block.

States can complain against another, if one is seen violating the norms under Biological Weapons Convention to the UNSC.