15 - 03 - 2023

News: Doha Political Declaration

Doha Political Declaration on Least Developed

Countries – LDC 5

➤ The 5th United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries (LDC-5) concluded with adoption of the 'Doha Political Declaration' by the world leaders.

Highlights of the Declaration

Doha Programme of Action

- ➤ Doha Programme of Action focuses on implementing the Doha Programme of Action (DPoA), the 10-year plan to put the world's 46 most vulnerable countries back on track to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG).
- ➤ DPoA for the Decade (2022-2031) was agreed upon during the first part of the LDC5 conference in March 2022 in New York, the US.

DPoA (2022-2031) consisted of Six Key Focus Areas,

➤ Eradicating Poverty, Leveraging the potential of science and technology to fight against multidimensional vulnerabilities and to achieve the SDGs, Addressing Climate Change, Environmental Degradation and Recovering from Covid-19 and building resilience against future shocks for risk-informed sustainable development.

Need for the Declaration

- The 46 LDCs are being hit the hardest by multiple crises including the Covid-19 Pandemic, Climate Crisis, growing Inequalities, rising Debt Burdens and economic shocks.
- They have contributed minimally to Carbon Dioxide Emissions, but disproportionately bear the burden of climate change impacts.
- ➤ These countries, which include 33 African nations, face the challenge of high debt costs while having inadequate liquidity to provide essential services.
- ➤ The LDCs are the worst performers on the progress made towards achieving SDGs, according to the Sustainable Development Report 2022.

Least Developed Countries (LDCs)

- Least Developed Countries (LDCs) are a group of countries identified by the United Nations as having the lowest indicators of socioeconomic development.
- These countries are characterized by high levels of poverty, low levels of human capital, and limited access to basic services, such as healthcare and education.
- Currently, there are 46 countries on the United Nations' list of LDCs. Africa (33), Asia (9), and Caribbean (1): Haiti and Pacific (3): Kiribati, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.
- ➤ The list of LDCs is reviewed every three years by the Committee for Development Policy (CDP), a group of independent experts that report to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations.
- ➤ Following a triennial review of the list, the CDP may recommend, in its report to ECOSOC, countries for addition to the list or graduation from LDC status.
- ➤ India's neighbours Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar and Nepal are included in the list of LDCs presently.

Economic and Social Council

- ➤ United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is responsible for coordinating the economic and social fields of the organization, specifically in regards to the 15 specialized agencies, the eight functional commissions and the five regional commissions under its jurisdiction.
- The Council consists of 54 Members States, which are elected yearly by the General Assembly for overlapping three-year terms.
- ➤ Seats on the Council are allotted based on geographical representation with 14 allocated to African states, 11 to Asian states, six to Eastern European states, 10 to Latin American and Caribbean states and 13 to western European and other states.
- ➤ India was a member in ECOSOC from 1st January 2018 31st December 2020.

 India has been reelected for its next term starting from 2022 along with Afghanistan, Oman and Kazakhstan from Asia Pacific category.
- The president of the Council is elected for a one-year term and chosen from the small- or mid-sized powers represented on the Council at the beginning of each new session. The presidency rotates among the United Nations Regional Groups to ensure equal representation.