10 - 11 - 2022

▶ News: ILO declaration urges countries to ensure labour protection

Singapore Declaration by ILO

- Singapore Declaration was adopted by the 17th Asia and the Pacific regional meeting of International Labour Organisation (ILO).
- The declaration sets ten point priorities of national action for the member countries to deal with the issue of dwindling wages of workers, inflation and unemployment.
- It urges the governments to ensure labour protection for all through the promotion of freedom of association and the effective recognition of the right to collective bargaining throughout the regions, including for workers in vulnerable situations and workers in the informal economy, as enabling rights for decent work.
- It also called for closing gender gaps in the world of work through measures that increase women's labour force participation, promote equal pay for work of equal value, balance work and responsibilities, and promoting women's leadership.

The declaration also urged the government to strengthen governance frameworks and respect for freedom of association to protect the rights of migrant workers.

International Labour Organisation (ILO)

- International Labour Organisation is a UN specialized agency whose mandate is to advance social and economic justice through setting international labour standards.
- ILO is founded in 1919 as a part of Treaty of Versailles under the League of Nations, and is the oldest specialized agency of UN.
- All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) was formed in 1920 to give Indian representation at ILO of League of Nations.
- > In 1946, it became the 1^{st} specialized agency of the UN.
- ILO is the only tripartite U.N. agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labor standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
- > It is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.
- ILO has 187 state members. 186 of 193 UN nations are its members, plus Cook Islands are members of ILO.

- UN members which are not the members of ILO are Andorra, Bhutan, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, Nauru and North Korea.
- Any member can be admitted newly if they accept all the obligations of ILO constitution and is supported by a 2/3rd majority in the ILO meeting.

The three organs of the ILO are:

- ➢ General Assembly of the ILO − Meets every year in the month of June.
- Governing Body: Executive Council of the ILO. Meets three times in a year in the months of March, June, and November.
- > International Labor Office: A permanent secretariat.
- India has ratified six out of the eight core/fundamental International Labour Organisation (ILO) Conventions.
- These are the Forced Labour Convention, 1930 (No. 29), Abolition of Forced Labour Convention, 1957 (No. 105), Equal Remuneration Convention, 1951 (No. 100), Discrimination (Employment and Occupation) Convention, 1958 (No. 111), Minimum Age Convention, 1973 (No. 138) and Worst Forms of Child Labour Convention, 1999 (No. 182).
- India has not ratified the core/fundamental Conventions, namely Freedom of Association and Protection of the Right to Organise Convention, 1948 (No. 87) and Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining Convention, 1949 (No. 98).

- The main reason for non-ratification of ILO Conventions No.87 & 98 is due to certain restrictions imposed on the Government servants.
- India had been the Chairperson of Governing body of ILO for a period starting in October 2020 to June 2021. India has been followed by Sweden as the Chair.

The flagship publications of ILO are:

- ➢ World Employment and Social Outlook.
- ➢ Global Wage Report.
- World Social Protection Report.