## 23 - 07 - 2022

News: National Film Awards 2020

➤ The 68<sup>th</sup> National film awards for the year 2020 were declared recently. List of winners are given below.

| Category                              | Recipient                                       |
|---------------------------------------|---|
| Best Film Friendly State              | Madhya Pradesh                                  |
| Best Feature Film                     | Sooraraipotru (Tamil)                           |
| Best Direction                        | Sachi for Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Malayalam)       |
| Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome | Tanhaji (Hindi)                                 |
| Entertainment                         |   |
| Best Children's Film                  | Sumi (Marathi)                                  |
| Best Film from a Debut Director       | Mandela (Tamil)                                 |
| Best Non-feature film                 | Testimony of Ana (Dangi)                        |
| Best Film on Other Social Issues      | Three Sisters (Bengali) and Justice Delayed but |
|                                       | delivered (Hindi)                               |
| Best Film on Environment conservation | Taledanda (Kannada)                             |
| Best Film on Social issues            | Funeral (Marathi)                               |
| Best Actor                            | Suriya (Sooraraipotru), Ajay Devgn (Tanhaji)    |
|                                       | and Aparna Balamurali (Sooraraipotru)           |

| Biju Menon (Ayyappanum Koshiyum) and         |
|--|
|  |
| Lakshmipriya Chandramouli (Sivaranjiniyum    |
| Innum Sila Pengalum) (Marathi)               |
| Anish Mangesh Gosavi (Tak – Tak), Akanksha   |
| Pingle and Divyesh Indulkar (Sumi) (All      |
| Marathi)                                     |
| Rahul Deshpande for Mi Vasantrao (Marathi)   |
| and Nanchiyamma for Ayyappanum Koshiyum      |
| Sudha Kongara and Shalini Ushadevi           |
| (Sooraraipotru)                              |
| Madonne Ashwin (Mandela)                     |
| Sree Sankar for Malik (Malayalam)            |
| Sandip Bhati & Pradeep Lekhwar for Jadui     |
| Jangal (Hindi)                               |
| S. Thaman for Ala Vaikunthapuramlo (Telugu)  |
| GV Prakashkumar (Sooraraipotru)              |
| Manoj Muntashir for Saina (Hindi)            |
| A. Sreekar Prasad (Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila |
| Pengalum)                                    |
|  |

| Best Production Design         | Anees Nadodi for Kappela (Malayalam)         |
|--------------------------------|--|
| Best Makeup Artist             | TV Rambabu for Natyam (Telugu)               |
| Best Costume Design            | Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla for Tanhaji |
| Best Stunt choreographer       | Mafiya Sasi for Ayyappanum Koshiyum          |
| Best Feature film in Malayalam | Thinkalazcha Nischayam                       |

## **Selection Process**

- The Directorate of Film Festivals invited online entries and the acceptable last date for entries was until 12<sup>th</sup> March 2021.
- Feature and Non-Feature Films certified by Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) between 1<sup>st</sup> January 2020, and 31<sup>st</sup> December 2020, were eligible for the film award categories.
- ➤ Books, critical studies, reviews or articles on cinema published in Indian newspapers, magazines, and journals between 1 January 2020, and 31 December 2020, were eligible for the best writing on cinema section.
- ➤ Entries of dubbed, revised or copied versions of a film or translation, abridgements, edited or annotated works and reprints were ineligible for the awards.

- ➤ For the Feature and Non-Feature Films sections, films in any Indian language, shot on 16 mm, 35 mm, a wider film gauge or a digital format, and released in cinemas, on video or digital formats for home viewing were eligible.
- Films were required to be certified as a feature film, a featurette or a Documentary/Newsreel/Non-Fiction by the Central Board of Film Certification.

## **Jury Members**

Vipul Shah (in capacity of Chairperson), Sreelekha Mukherjee, S. Thangadurai,
A. Karthikraaja, Viji Thampi, Nishigandha, Dharam Gulati, GS Bhaskar,
Sanjeev Rattan, VN Aditya and Thangadurai.

## **Numbers** game

Most number of awards was received by Sooraraipotru (5) and Ayyappanum Koshiyum (4) respectively.