05 - 01 - 2022

News: Non – Proliferation Treaty (NPT)

- ➤ Recently, the Five permanent United Nations Security Council members (China, France, Russia, the U.K. and US) pledged to prevent atomic weapons spreading and to avoid nuclear conflict.
- ➤ The pledge was made in a rare joint statement ahead of a review of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

The Pledge

- ➤ The further spread of such weapons must be prevented. A nuclear war cannot be won and must never be fought.
- The avoidance of war between nuclear-weapon states and the reduction of strategic risks as our foremost responsibilities.
- ➤ Nuclear weapons for as long as they continue to exist should serve defensive purposes, deter aggression, and prevent war.
- They intend to maintain and further strengthen their national measures to prevent unauthorised or unintended use of nuclear weapons.

Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NNPT)

- Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) is an international treaty whose objective is to prevent the spread of nuclear weapons and weapons technology, to promote co-operation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and to further the goal of nuclear disarmament.
- The treaty was signed in 1st July 1968 and came into force in 5th March 1970.
- There are 190 signatories to the NNPT and are subject to the inspection of International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).
- Non-parties to NNPT are India, Israel, Pakistan (Never signed), North Korea (earlier signed) and South Sudan (formed in 2011).
- NNPT defines nuclear weapons states as those states who have possessed nuclear weapons before 1st January 1967.
- > These countries are US, UK, China, Russia and France.
- ➤ India have not signed the treaty as the treaty divides countries as nuclear haves and nuclear have not's.
- ➤ It also focus on horizontal proliferation and not vertical proliferation.

<u>News:</u> Union Home Secretary releases three manuals & newsletter of Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre

- ➤ Union Home Secretary Ajay Kumar Bhalla today released three manuals and a newsletter of the Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre.
- The manuals are part of a focussed awareness campaign for prevention of cyber crimes and to inculcate cyber hygiene in rural areas, industrial bodies and public.

Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre (I4C)

- The scheme to set up Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre (I4C) was approved in October 2018 and inaugurated in January 2020, to deal with all cybercrimes in a comprehensive and coordinated manner.
- ➤ I4C will be set up under the newly created Cyber and Information Security (CIS) division of Ministry of Home Affairs.

Components

- ➤ National Cyber Crime Threat Analytics Unit
- ➤ National Cyber Crime Reporting Portal
- ➤ National Cyber Crime Training Centre
- > Cyber Crime Ecosystem Management Unit

- ➤ National Cyber Crime Research and Innovation Centre
- ➤ National Cyber Crime Forensic Laboratory Ecosystem
- ➤ Platform for Joint Cyber Crime Investigation Team
- ➤ The I4C will assist in centralizing cyber security investigations, prioritize the development of response tools and bring together private companies to contain the menace.

The Citizen Financial Cyber Fraud Reporting and Management System

- The 155260 Helpline and its Citizen Financial Cyber Fraud Reporting and Management System has been made operational by the Indian Cyber Crime Coordination Centre, I4C under the Ministry of Home Affairs, with active support and cooperation from the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), all major banks, Payment Banks, Wallets and Online Merchants.
- ➤ It is currently being utilized along with 155260 by seven States and Union Territories covering more than 35 per cent of the country's population. These are Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. Roll out in the other States for pan-national coverage is underway to prevent the flow of money siphoned off by fraudsters.